The Office of the Provost and the Center for Teaching Excellence are pleased to announce a new award recognizing exemplary online teaching and a sustained body of exemplary online teaching practice. The University of Florida Online Educator of the Year Award recognizes exemplary online teaching that includes high-quality course design and effective online instructional delivery methods relevant to student engagement, student learning gains, and student satisfaction

The university award winner will receive $4000 and be UF’s nominee for the newly created State University System (SUS) President’s Award for online teaching. The 2024 Online Educator of the Year Award recipient will be showcased on the SUS Institutional Online Teaching Award webpage of the Board of Governors website. Applications must be submitted before the deadline, November 1, 2023 (11:59 PM)

The award recipient may have the opportunity to present at the annual TOPkit/Online Innovation Summit since it is one of the opportunities for disseminating the good teaching practices.


The faculty considered for recognition have developed one or more High Quality or Exemplary courses, as designated through the UF Pathways to Teaching Excellence online course review process, and have a sustained record of teaching in online learning environments.

An “online course” has the following characteristics: 

  1. Offered through Distance Learning or at least 80% of instruction is delivered online 
  2. Has an Instructor of Record with a unique UFID 
  3. Is identified by a course number (Ex. ABC0000)


Submission Requirements

Complete and submit the following items before 11:59 PM, November 1, 2023.


The selection committee for the award is composed of the Committee for Excellence in Online Learning, Teaching Excellence Faculty Fellows, and UF student representatives.

The selection committee will evaluate packets based on this criteria.

Selection Timeline

September 29, 2023                Call for applications 

November 1, 2023                    Applications due in ProposalSpace

Nov. 2023 – Feb. 2024             Committee selection process

March 2024                                 UF award recipient is selected and notified

April 2024                                    UF award recipient is announced


Apply for the 2024 Online Educator of the Year Award here.

For questions about the requirements or award, contact Nikki Lyons.