Getting Started with Universal Design for Learning

02nov1:00 pm2:30 pmGetting Started with Universal Design for LearningPassport CategoriesCenter for the Integration of Research Teaching and LearningPresenter(s)CIRTL

Event Details

Getting Started with Universal Design for Learning, a 2-part workshop on UDL fundamentals. Register here.

We know the one-size-fits-all approach to learning design is not optimal. But how do we incorporate flexibility into teaching and learning while still maintaining rigorous learning? In this workshop, participants will learn the three principles that underpin Universal Design for Learning (UDL), a pedagogical framework backed by neuroscience that fosters motivated, resourceful, and strategic learners. They will have the opportunity to apply these principles to a teaching artifact of their choice, be it a syllabus, assignment, and/or teaching practice. Participants will come away with an expanded understanding of learner variability, how it can be leveraged as an asset in the classroom, and how to make learning more accessible for their students. No previous experience with UDL is necessary. By the end of this workshop, participants will be prepared to:
* Identify the 3 main principles of Universal Design for Learning
* Explain why each principle is important to consider when designing inclusive learning opportunities * Critique a proposed learning activity and identify potential barriers to equitable access
* Propose ways of re-designing a learning community to foster equity by following the principles of UDL

Workshop Schedule This two-session online workshop meets on Wednesday, November 2 and November 9 at 2-3:30PM AT / 1-2:30PM ET / 12-1:30PM CT / 11AM-12:30PM MT / 10-11:30AM PT.

Registration & Enrollment This workshop has a cap of 75 students. Registration is open from Monday, August 15th until capacity is reached or until Friday, October 28, whichever comes first. Registration will be processed on a first-come, first-served basis and registrants from CIRTL member institutions or alumni of CIRTL member institutions will receive priority. Once registration closes, all registrants will be notified of their enrollment status.

Accessibility We strive to be inclusive of anyone interested in participating in our activities. If you have specific accessibility needs, please contact us at support@cirtl.net in advance so that we may make the necessary accommodations.

more

Time

(Wednesday) 1:00 pm - 2:30 pm