Finding Your Teaching Mentor

25oct12:30 pm2:00 pmFinding Your Teaching MentorPassport CategoriesCenter for the Integration of Research Teaching and LearningPresenter(s)CIRTL

Event Details

Finding Your Teaching Mentor, a 2-part workshop guiding grad students through teaching development plans and how they can find a teaching mentor. Register here.

In this two-part workshop, participants will start making a teaching development plan. Their plans will take into account their current context as well as align with their personal and professional goals. In session one, participants will learn how to orient themselves in their teaching development pathway and make an inventory of their local teaching resources. They will also develop understanding about why future faculty need a teaching mentor network that includes people different from their research mentors. The second session will help participants make a plan for building their mentoring network around their teaching development goals. We will talk about defining success as a teacher and how to ask for mentorship. We will hear from graduate student and faculty panelists about their teaching mentorship highlights and challenges. We will end our workshop series with time to form peer mentor networks. By the end of this workshop, participants will be prepared to:
* Understand why you need a teaching mentor network
* Make an inventory of your local teaching resources
* Make a teaching development plan based on where you are developmentally and institutionally, and in alignment with your personal and professional goals
* Get a teaching mentor(s) different from your research advisor

Workshop Schedule This two-session online workshop meets on Tuesday, October 25 and November 1 at 1:30-3PM AT / 12:30-2PM ET / 11:30AM-1PM CT / 10:30AM-12PM MT / 9:30-11AM PT.

Registration & Enrollment This workshop has a cap of 30 students. Registration is open from Monday, August 15th until capacity is reached or until Friday, October 21, whichever comes first. Registration will be processed on a first-come, first-served basis and registrants from CIRTL member institutions or alumni of CIRTL member institutions will receive priority. Once registration closes, all registrants will be notified of their enrollment status.

Accessibility We strive to be inclusive of anyone interested in participating in our activities. If you have specific accessibility needs, please contact us at support@cirtl.net in advance so that we may make the necessary accommodations.

more

Time

(Tuesday) 12:30 pm - 2:00 pm